The Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Chulalongkorn University, is run by our administrative team: lead by the Chairman of the Department and Vice Chairs on Administrative Affairs, In-patient Service, Out-patient Service, Research Affairs, Graduate and Undergraduate Affairs, and Department Books and Journal Program, among others. The department is divided into the aforementioned 19 academic divisions.

Administrative Structure

The Department of Medicine is headed by the Chairman of the Department and the Departmental committee.

1. Academic Administrations

comprises of the 19 divisions responsible for the academic research, teaching, and medical services in their respective subspecialties.

  1. Cardiology
  2. Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
  3. Hematology
  4. Gastoenterology
  5. Endocrinology and Metabolism
  6. Dermatology
  7. Nephrology
  8. Infectious Diseases
  9. Neurology
  10. Rheumatology
  11. Allergy and Clinical Immunology
  12. Clinical Epidemiology
  13. Geriatric Medicine
  14. Clinical Nurtition
  15. Oncology
  16. Toxicology
  17. Emergency Medicine
  18. Perioperative and ambulatory Medicine
  19. Medical Genetics and Genomics
  20. General Medicine

2. Patient Care Administrations

Administrations for patient care are divided according to hospital floors. The Department is responsible for 13 inpatient units in the Hospital, the Internal Medicine Outpatient Service, as well as the non-trauma part of the Hospital’s Emergency Room. Each unit team is comprised of a unit chair, usually a faculty member appointed by the Department Chair, the Nursing Floor Supervisor who serves as the unit vice chair, a unit nursing secretary, and another junior faculty serves as unit medical secretary. These unit teams are responsible for improving the quality of care in their respective units. The Internal Medicine Patient Care Team and Emergency Room Patient Care Team also coordinate with each Unit Team to ensure optimum quality of care and state of the art treatment for our patients.